The Group: New Year 2017

clockwise: Mark Crimmin, Martí Garçon Padilla, Samantha Lau, Alex Hicken, Clare Bakewell, Olga Ekkert, Wenyi Chen, Michael Butler, Bryan Ward, Greg Coates, Tom Hooper, James O'Hanlon.

Individual Contact Details

Nick Phillips

Research Associate

Tom Hooper

Research Associate

Clare Bakewell

Research Associate

Bryan Ward

Research Associate

Michael Butler

4th Year PhD

Alex Hicken

3rd Year PhD

Samantha Lau

3rd Year PhD

Wenyi Chen

2nd Year PhD

Martí Garçon Padilla

1st Year PhD

Greg Coates

1st Year PhD

James O'Hanlon

MSci Student

Paxton Chia

BSc Student

Previous Members - Destinations

Research Associates

PhD Students

Mark Crimmin


Mark R. Crimmin graduated from Imperial College London in 2004 and completed a MSc by research in organic synthesis at Bristol University under the supervision of Prof. Aggarwal. He received his PhD. in main group chemistry and catalysis from Imperial College London in 2008 supervised by Prof. Mike Hill (now at Bath) and Prof. Tony Barrett. In the same year, he was awarded a Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851 research fellowship which he took to UC Berkeley to study with Prof. Bob Bergman. Here he contributed to projects in C-H functionalisation and metal dinitrosyl chemistry, work jointly supervised by Prof. Dean Toste. In 2011, he returned to London as a Royal Society University Research Fellow, initially at UCL and now back at Imperial.

Awards and Recognition

  • Research fellowship from the Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851 (2008)
  • Royal Society University Research Fellowship (2010)
  • ERC Starting Grant (2015)
  • RSC Harrison-Meldola Award (2017)

Research Talks

  • 2017: University of Bristol, Gordon Stone Symposium, 8th November
  • 2017: University of Sussex, 11th October
  • 2017: ICCE Training School, Erlangen - 5th & 6th September
  • 2017: Agichem, Gottingen - 7th August
  • 2017: University of Oxford, UK - 1st March
  • 2017: University of Durham, UK - 22nd February
  • 2016: MICRA, Bath.
  • 2016: Rare Earths 2016 Sapporo, Japan.
  • 2016: YC16, Imperial College London.
  • 2016: Heriot-Watt University.
  • 2015: Royal Society of Chemistry, Coordination Chemistry Meeting, University of Oxford, UK.
  • 2015: Frankland Symposium, Imperial College London, UK.
  • 2014: Univeristie Paul Sabtier, France.
  • 2014: Queen Mary University, UK.
  • 2013: University of Bath, UK.